PDA

View Full Version : RAIDExpress 133 RAID problem...

SMNug
07-05-2006, 05:44 PM
My problem is with ataraid, I have done a hd install of (the latest knoppix cd) debian.

loads up and runs fine apartfrom my backup drives dont exist anymore or arnt accesable?

I have 3 ide cd roms and a harddrive plugged into the norm ide's and my ataraid running two more harddrives
the cd drives and my main drive are fine but anything plugged into ataraid is missing, or hidden i dont realy know lol

I am new to linux so have little understanding of anything, but i have searched the net and fixed most of the problems i have
found so far but this one is beyond me, when i installed xp I installed the RAIDExpress 133 RAID driver for this device and its working fine in xp.

I have read that this is a comman problem but nowere seems to explain it in anyway a noob like me can understand.

I would be very happy if somone could give me a hand or at least point me in the right direction, thewn i can wipe this dreded xp from my life :)

thanks in advance, and if more info is needed just ask and i will try and figger out how to find what you need to know

Harry Kuhman
07-05-2006, 06:37 PM
The raid is acomplished under windows by a software driver that spreads the data across multiple drives. Without a driver for Linux that exactly matches the way that the data is stored under Windows you are not going to access these files from Linux. While Linux has some very good raid technology, you can't expect it to match every raid scheeme ever done for Windows. The bottom line is that you pretty much painted yourself into a corner when you installed raid for Windows. My suggestion would be to back up all of your critical information from windows, install a version of Linux that you like (do not "install" Knoppix) and reload your data from the backups that you made.

SMNug
07-06-2006, 08:25 AM