PDA

View Full Version : Reformating a Harddrive?

Sk8erG4388
07-24-2006, 07:20 AM
Im new to doing anything from windows and im trying too get an old laptop i have running smooth again useing knoppix. Ive been succesful at getting knoppix 5.0.1 dvd to run well. i erased the hardrive since i had no desire of useing the windows 2000 that was on it anymore an too be useing knoppix full time for the laptop. i erased the harddrive useing webroot system eraser that comes with windows washer, but now when i use knoppix it cant even mount the harddrive or anything and im guessing thats because its not formated. So what im asking is how do i format my harddrive threw dos i guess, unless knoppix has a feature i can use?

An where should i go for the best like introduction to useing knoppix, for saveing the configuration an other stuff a newbie at knoppix should now?

kk any help will be greatly appreciated an thx!!! :)

Sk8erG4388
07-24-2006, 05:59 PM
ook after messing around with it for some time i managed to figure out what to do an i got the harddrive to be partioned an formatted raw. then i used the knoppix disk manager too do the formating but what format do i use/works best? because im still unable to write too the hard drive

rusty
07-25-2006, 12:14 AM
If you're new to all of linux and want a disto that will install easily to your (now) blank hard drive I suggest you try Ubuntu http://www.ubuntu.com/ or perhaps kanotix. Knoppix is best run from CD, so keep it around for that.

Harry Kuhman
07-25-2006, 12:20 AM
If you're new to all of linux and want a disto that will install easily to your (now) blank hard drive I suggest .....