PDA

View Full Version : Ess onboard not working if configuration is saved

curaga
08-13-2006, 11:38 AM
I have an Ess Audiodrive 1869 onboard. When I boot with default settings, it is not recognised.
Im a complete noob on linux, never used it before. My friend said Knoppix would be easy. It was.
Then I searched the forums, and found out about alsaconf. It worked the first time, found my card, configured it right and everything was as wonderful as with windows. Then, I saved my config to floppy, thinking i wouldnt need to use alsaconf everytime i wanted to listen to music. When i rebooted, it started the sound server, but whined about not finding the sound card. I tried alsaconf again, it found my card, but in the end of it, Enjoy part, said no such card, even thou it had found it less than a minute ago. Another try, and now it finds no isa/legacy cards at all.

My Question: Why does alsaconf not work after loading previous (alsa)configuration?????
this should be fixed..

WaKa
08-13-2006, 10:12 PM
Hi there
At boot you need to type knoppix floppyconfig
This is a cheatcode to run your floppy, as a result, the sound config is implemented and any KDE setup including your last bookmarks on Firefox saved too.
Cheatcodes are at boot by pressing F2 or F3 and here (http://www.kernel.org/pub/dist/knoppix/knoppix-cheatcodes.txt)

curaga
08-14-2006, 09:50 AM
i meant that after configuring alsa, i save my config to floppy and after reboot load it from floppy using the knoppix floppyconfig code, then sound does not work and alsaconf either

WaKa
08-14-2006, 04:18 PM
After booting with default settings in the KDE Control Center > Sound System check "Enable the sound system", test sound and apply. And config to floppy again.

Hope this helps

curaga
08-14-2006, 05:50 PM
sorry, no, i had already done that before i first saved my configuration.