PDA

View Full Version : Inability to connect to the Internet

johnbb
09-10-2006, 01:21 PM
I am new to Linux, but am endeavouring to understand the jargon and complexities.

I have a Dell Inspiron 6000 laptop. I have also managed to download Knoppix 5.0.1 and burn a CD using Windows XP and Nero.

My ISP is part of a cable TV setup requiring from me with XP, an ID and a password to access the broadband service theoretically working at 100Mbps, no dialing, no modem just a cable plugged into the computer at a socket named "Network Connector-(RJ-45)". They state that they have no Linux support for connection software.

I have tried Xandros and Mepis Linux distributions, and have the same problem as with Knoppix, an inability to configure a connection to the Internet. Probably due to my lack of Linux knowledge.

In Knoppix, and the other distributions, it seems to connect to the Internet one is expected to have a dial up system and other systems with cards that don't seem to be for me. Everything else works fine, or seems to so far.

Can someone advise me what to do please to connect.

My ISP details are:

Device type: PPPoE (WAN Miniport)
Server type:PPP
Transports:TCP/IP
Authentication:PAP
Compression:None
PPP Multilink framing:Off

I am not required to enter any address of any kind, or or dialup, just my ID and password. I hope I have given the correct information about my ISP to get a helpful answer.

Hopefully waiting

Harry Kuhman
09-10-2006, 01:42 PM
I don't really know your situation, in most countries PPPoE is used for DSL, not for cable access. Knoppix does have a PPPoE client, but if you log in with PPPoE then you should really read my stock answer #4 (http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/User:Harry_Kuhman).

johnbb
09-10-2006, 02:37 PM
Thank you for your quite prompt reply, but I sorry to have to say I am still none the wiser.