PDA

View Full Version : Memory not enough!

phiji
09-23-2006, 03:25 AM
I am just trying out a Knoppix Live CD on my home PC -- AMD Athlon 2 GHz; 128 MB RAM; 40 GB HDD; Win XP Pro. Everything goes fine until I get the message ''Not enough memory to start KDE -- at least 86 MB required" and am greeted with a shell prompt.

Since I am new to Linux, the shell prompt isn't exactly what I want to start with and I am quite lost. Why isn't KDE starting, when I apparently have enough memory. Even the Knoppix official site says 128 MB should be enough for everything to work almost.

Phiji

Harry Kuhman
09-23-2006, 04:33 AM
I'm not sure what the problem is, you posted some info but not quite enough to know what is really happening.

Before I get to my best guess of the problem based on the limit info, I want to say that that's an strangely memory starved system. A 2 gig Athlon is not a system I would ever expect to see only 128 megs of memory on, particularly if you have the money to waste on Xp pro. You would have been much better off with XP home and put the money towards more memory. And memory is pretty cheap, I would strongly advise increasing yours. Xp must be thrashing itself to death in 128 megs.

What I'm wondering is, what is your video in this system? If it's on-board video, and not a seperate video card, then it likely is using some of that 128 meg memory for video, strapping your memory requirements even further. And if you are pushing that vidoe to display high res and high color depth then it can really cut into memory, likely getting you below the minimum requirements, A BIOS setting might let you lower your video mode enough to boot, but feeding that thing more memory should be your highest priority, and putting in an actualy video card if there isn't one would be the second enhancement I would consider. Even a dirt cheap modern Nvidia or ATI based video card would improve things greatly.

phiji
09-25-2006, 05:00 PM
Hi Harry!