PDA

View Full Version : Two hardware-related problems with Knoppix 5.0.1

DaXiuyi
09-25-2006, 04:34 PM
G'day everyone,

Am a complete newbie to Linux, so sorry if I stuff up with terminology etc...

Am trying to get my Knoppix 5.0.1 to work, and it's doing great apart from 2 things:
1. Printers. I have a Samsung ML-1710 and when I try and configure it using the Configure Printers utility, I keep getting told that the driver doesn't exist. An earlier post suggested trying to configure it as a similar printer for which drivers exist (e.g. Samsung ML-1210), and I tried that, except it doesn't seem to work for any similar printers :(

2. Net connection. Konqueror seems to work fine, but Firefox just times out. I tried to use the network card configuration utility, but got a bit confused by the terms it asked for. Here's what I know from my Network connection settings in Windows XP: Address (assigned by DHCP), IP (xxx.xxx.1.2), Subnet (255.255.255.0) and Gateway (xxx.xxx.1.1). How do I get Knoppix to reflect this? I also tried to use the ADSL configuration utility, and I jst get timeouts all the time :S

If there's any particular output you need from a certain program or command prompt, please let me know. Otherwise any help would be greatly appreciated. I have seen solutions to similar sounding problems in the forums, but either they refer to an old ve4rsion of Knoppix or I've tried them and they don't work.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Harry Kuhman
09-25-2006, 05:23 PM
2. Net connection. Konqueror seems to work fine, but Firefox just times out. I tried to use the network card configuration utility, but got a bit confused by the terms it asked for. Here's what I know from my Network connection settings in Windows XP: Address (assigned by DHCP), IP (xxx.xxx.1.2), Subnet (255.255.255.0) and Gateway (xxx.xxx.1.1). How do I get Knoppix to reflect this? I also tried to use the ADSL configuration utility, and I jst get timeouts all the time :S