PDA

View Full Version : Help ! WG311T , no net, totally confused !!

dumbnoobie
09-28-2006, 12:20 PM
Hi people.

I need your help please !

I am totally new to Linux.. I’ve tried to find dummy guides but they seem too much to understand and confusing. Linux to me is like learning Mongolian.

I really need a noobie guide on how to get my hdd install on the net and my wifi card working on kismet / airsnort.

Initially I installed Knoppix 5.01 Live in VMware running on my Windows XP pro platform. The net wifi connection was bridged and was showing eth1 (or 0) and so I got onto the internet through the emulation with no problem. I ran Lspci and it gave me the wifi card info fine. AR5212 Atheros on ath and other tools showed eth0.

Kismet and Airsnort of course did not work due to what may be have been needing ndiswrapper or Madwifi drivers.
Regardless, it was a headache for me being a noob and I think its the wrong way to go - working in an emulator on the network side for some apps.. I needed a better solution.

I decided to get out a small old hard drive and do a hard drive install.

My card is a Netgear WG311T with Atheros AR5212 abg chipset.
The knoppix install went really well. No problems there. Sound card picked up, everything else seems to function all seemed good. But on closer inspection my WG311T card does not appear to be anywhere in Lspci or Dmesg now. If I run a prompt and type in netcardconfig a few seconds later up come a message saying something about ath0 which can’t be a bad thing so the system ‘finds’ the wifi card. Dmesg and lspci though do not show the card as visible (installed).

I am totally unable to get on the internet / net. Do I need some command to redirect ath0 to eth0 or do I have to use some kind of iwconfig command to bring the connection up ? Drivers ? Madwifi ?