PDA

View Full Version : How to partition and format a dead windows computer.

Shaba1
09-28-2006, 10:58 PM
Hello folks. I am a beginning knoppix user. I have had a knoppix ISO CD for about 18 months but until recently I never had a PERSONAL computer that it would run well on.

In any case. I am a systems admin for a small non-profit. Basically I got tasked to do all computer related in the company becasue I knew more then anyone else :D. Anyway I am pretty versed in networking,CISCO IOS, Windows 98,ME,2k and xp, e.t.c

We have a computer in the admin office that is cannot "find" its C: drive. Everytime try to run setup from the manf. recovery CD it reads the partition and gives me the size of the partition but hen says that the drive is not availible. IF (BIG IF) the adaptor is fine and the drive platter is not damaged I would like to be able to format this as and NTFS partition ( Or even a FAT partition just so I can use the recovery CD to format it) using the KNOPPIX CD. I am actually writting this post on that machine using mozilla under knoppix after I rebooted using the knoppix cd.

The major problems is that I know VERY little about knoppix and how to do this.

Even before you say it. NO I cannot put knoppix on this machine's hard drive. The admin. assistantants in this company are too use to using windows. The would be up in arms at having to learn anything else. To give you and example I wanted to switch them over to MS Office from Wordperfect Suite but I faced a rebellion.

Thanks in Advance

RandomGoon
09-28-2006, 11:59 PM
Use the utility QTparted off the "K" menu. It's a GUI frontend and should be intuitive. From there you should be able to remove any remaining MS partitions (save between steps to actually commit the changes) and recreate the partition structure you want. Since you're going to reformat the drive in preparation to install Windows the format of the drive should be irrelevant but, to be safe, use FAT32.

HTH,

'Goon

Harry Kuhman