PDA

View Full Version : After logout system freezes



kriko
05-18-2003, 11:28 AM
Using Knoppix 3.2 hdinstall, quite new sub version.

Problem:
After pressing log out button, the X is shut down (*I think*) and then monitor falls asleep, this happens quite quickly, around 20 sec I think. Then, it doesn't listen to any commands, such as mouse movement, or keyboard, I tryed CTRL+ALT+DEL, CTRL+ALT+BACKSPACE.

Additional information:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 1700+, RAM: 256mb DDR, SWAP: 517mb, LINUX PART - EXT3 - around 6GB, VID: ATI Radeon 7500.
Using KDE 3.1, with a custom theme.

This seems to be happening every time I try it. And the only way out of this is pressing the Reboot button on computer.

Possible idea about what is causing it:
Since, in Knoppix, when the X is closed, the computer will be shut down. Now, I think this might be a bug, that the hdinstall, will possibly try to do this also, but well it will not succeed.

Anyway, well, Knoppix was a wonderful solution to install Debian :) And it is also a great rescure disk. Good work!

And, ugh, since I am not farmiliar with all this stuff, then is it possible to run 2 desktop enviorments at the same time. when KDE is up and running, would it be possible to start FluxBox in another thread. I tryed pressing CTRL+ALT+F6, then logging in, and then "startx", but it gave me an error.

Viro
05-18-2003, 05:13 PM
You've got a Radeon card. This is a problem with XFree86 that whenever you use DRI, you won't be able to shutdown. That is why on in the Ideas section of this forum, I've asked to have the very latest version of XFree86 (4.3.99) included as it includes a patch that fixes this very problem.

For now, the only way to do things would be to disable DRI. Comment the line load "dri" in your XF86Config-4 file.

kriko
05-18-2003, 06:16 PM
thank you for your fast reply Viro (what in Finnish means Estonia :))

well, since this is a Debian distro, and has this very convinient function apt-get, can't I just do this:
apt-get upgrade xfree86

???

I wouldn't like to install Knoppix again tho.

Viro
05-18-2003, 06:18 PM
If they had a package for XFree86 4.3.99, sure. But at the moment, this doesn't exist. So you'll have to compile from source ( :cry: ). that's why I'm now using an nVidia card.

kriko
05-18-2003, 06:21 PM
I don't think I can afford buying another card at the moment, I would rather buy alot of CD-R's now :P

Compiling XFree86 from the source. I know this can be hard, but how hard?

kriko
05-18-2003, 06:28 PM
okay, I have now found out that it is a (timewaste)^23 :P

altho, well, what would do commenting the dri line? would it make my kde different or something?

I am still kinda linux n00b so I don't know much :)

Viro
05-18-2003, 06:48 PM
Just add a # to the beginning of the line which says load "dri".

What this does is prevent the DRI module from being loaded, and so you won't use DRI at all. You'll only use DRI if you're running 3D applications that make use of Open GL.

kriko
05-18-2003, 06:51 PM
heh, I feared that in the bottom of my heart, that's why I asked :P

I mean, well, games :P TuxRacer :P *me thinks it uses opengl*

I know about commenting, I have done programming a little so I know it :P

Viro
05-19-2003, 08:54 AM
Yes, tuxracer makes use of OpenGL and if you have the dri modules loaded, they will be used. Last time, when I played tuxracer with my Radeon 9000 and tried logging out afterwards, not only did my computer hang, it corrupted files on my reiserfs file system too! :cry: .

So you better comment out dri, or make sure you don't use any 3D stuff that might inadverdently make use of dri.

kriko
05-19-2003, 04:26 PM
damn then,,,, I have ext3, and it's pretty okay atm, altho, I hope my C (NTFS) and D,E(FAT32) will not corrupt because of this.

and the only way of updating XFree86 would be with the next Knoppix install what would also destroy all data on ext3 and modifications I have made for KDE now?

Viro
05-19-2003, 05:21 PM
Well, you could just wait till the latest XFree86 appears on http://packages.debian.org.

Stephen
05-19-2003, 05:30 PM
and the only way of updating XFree86 would be with the next Knoppix install what would also destroy all data on ext3 and modifications I have made for KDE now?

You can back up your /home and restore after another install or use the home partition how to (http://www.knoppix.net/docs/index.php/HomePartitionHowTo) and create a home partition. Also if you back up the files in the /etc directory you can restore the configuration changes you made.

arti
11-13-2003, 10:31 AM
:D

I have the same problem, so i will try it again this evening with dri commented out.

For information: I have following hw config: ATI Radeon 7500, P4 i845 mainboard, Adaptec 39160 U160 SCSI Controller.

arti
11-18-2003, 05:38 PM
:D

It works!