PDA

View Full Version : My harddrive will not show on my desktop or anywhere.

breezy
10-06-2006, 07:56 PM
I have a Dell dimensions computer that i bought 3 months ago. The hard drive ended up being bad. The repair man was here and set in a new harddrive. Everything works fine. I was using windows XP Media edition... The Problem is.... I NEED the information on that bad harddrive desperately! I was recommended to try this Knoppix to hopefully be able to get in to that hardrive.

On My desktop i don\t have any icons of a harddrive. Please help me get into this harddrive as i only have a day with it before the dell man comes back here to take it. Even though it\s broke, they won\t let me keep it too long.
Pleaseeee my time is running out and i am very new to this knoppix and have been reading other topics here to see if i can find the answers i need, but i have no luck.

Thank you for any help.

Breezy

Harry Kuhman
10-06-2006, 08:07 PM
Answer #7 (http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/User:Harry_Kuhman)

breezy
10-06-2006, 08:20 PM
Sorry Harry. Thank you for reminding me :)

Harry Kuhman
10-06-2006, 09:21 PM
Knoppix can't solve all bad hard drive problems. The drive might be so dead that it isn't spinning for example, or the heads might not be moving. On the other hand you might have the very common problem of Windows destroying it's partition. In some of these cases Knoppix can still see files, in others it can't. If the drive is running well enough that Knoppix can see the disk then the gpart command might help recover the partition table. An alternative might be to use a forensic recovery CD like Helix (http://www.e-fense.com/helix/) and see if it can read any of the files off the disk (the safest thing to do would be to try Helix first, before letting gpart change anything).