PDA

View Full Version : Boot Knoppix on Compaq Deskpro

e.newed
05-18-2003, 08:11 PM
Hello,
This is my first time, so be gentle.
I have downloaded the Knoppix ISO image twice and burned it each time to a new CD. I set my Compaq Deskpro to boot from CD-Rom first. ( I have a 20Gig disk that shows 18.56 Gig available, no other partitions, 256Mb. of Ram and Celeron 496Mhz processor, and Windows ME as primary OS). The CD starts to boot and everything is configured, then a pretty female voice says something like "initiating start up procedure". The light on the CD-Rom blinks for another minute and then the screen goes completely black and the CD stops and nothing happens. I then give the "Three finger salute" and the pretty voice comes on again and says shutdown sequence has started. That's it.

Am I missing something here. The first time I downloaded it http: the second time I downloaded it ftp from Florida St.Univ.. I tried to check the checksums with MD5x and the generated checksums showed green, but the check files showed red. :cry:

Please Help!
e.newed

Dave_Bechtel
05-19-2003, 04:51 AM
--Did you try any cheat codes, such as ' vga=normal ' or anything to do with the X server... What video card/monitor do you have?

Hello,
This is my first time, so be gentle.
I have downloaded the Knoppix ISO image twice and burned it each time to a new CD. I set my Compaq Deskpro to boot from CD-Rom first. ( I have a 20Gig disk that shows 18.56 Gig available, no other partitions, 256Mb. of Ram and Celeron 496Mhz processor, and Windows ME as primary OS). The CD starts to boot and everything is configured, then a pretty female voice says something like "initiating start up procedure". The light on the CD-Rom blinks for another minute and then the screen goes completely black and the CD stops and nothing happens. I then give the "Three finger salute" and the pretty voice comes on again and says shutdown sequence has started. That's it.