PDA

View Full Version : help with hardware needed

Curulin
11-03-2006, 09:06 PM
First of all, I'm new to Linux, but I want to give it a try, so please treat me as a stupid newbie.
I bought myself a new mainboard and a new (second) harddisc.
I wish to use both Linux (Ubuntu) and Windows with my new mainboard, so I need to format my harddiscs to partition them.
Now here's the problem.
While my Bios settings tell me that I have a primary master and a secondary master harddisc, Windows (running with my old mainboard) does not reckognize my new harddisc (the secondary master).
So I tried to see if Knoppix reckognizes my new harddisc, but I'm not sure if it does. There are some devices visible with no contents.
Now my questions.
1. How do I find out which device is which? Is there a way to show e.g. the brand name (Maxtor in this case)?
2. Is it possible to format a harddisc with Knoppix?
3. Is it possible to partition a harddisc while using Knoppix?

Harry Kuhman
11-03-2006, 09:56 PM
First of all, you'll get more help with more specific subject lines, like actually trying to convey something about the problem. Including that you are a newbie doesn't really help and doesn't tell us anything about the problem. See the sticky post near the top of this forum titled ON POSTING: FORUMS and SUBJECT LINES (http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=16574) and also see my stock answer #7 (http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/User:Harry_Kuhman). In addition, you get better results if you pick the proper forum for your post. In your case you seem to have accurately defined the problem as hardware (too many people would lump anything Knoppix related in hardware because Knoppix runs on hardware, but you problem does indeed seem hardware related and the subject line you used reflects that, so why would you not post it in the hardware forum?).