PDA

View Full Version : Can't find knoppix filesystem, sorry.

Snifro
11-09-2006, 10:31 PM
What a polite error message, but annoying none-the-less.

I used DSL's tool to create a bootable usbkey. I plugged it into my fairly new Dell Precision 670 and it appears to boot until it gets to the dreaded "can't find knoppix filesystem, sorry". I have the image on a 2.0 gb Lexar USB drive. I tried typing "dsl nodma" as well as a bunch of other commands to try to get this to work, but nothing has so far. The harddrives in this machine are connected via SATA. (Not SCSI or IDE). I tried booting off of the cd and it worked fine on the same machine.

Does anyone have any clue as to why this isnt working?

DaveKimble
11-18-2006, 05:34 AM
I have the same problem booting V5.0.1 from CD :
Accessing KNOPPIX CD at /dev/hdc....cdrom/KNOPPIX/modules/insmod : 1 : syntax error : word unexpected (expecting ")" )

implies insmod is corrupt.
You might try replacing the file.

This is my very first try at Linux.
It is likely to be my very last try too.

Harry Kuhman
11-18-2006, 05:40 AM
Dave, since you are trying to boot from a disc rather than a USB device, you don't have the same problem. This error is frequently seen from corrupt downloads, bad optical disc readers, dma problems and most of all high speed burns. I have never been able to get a flash drive to boot though, so I can't say what Snifro's problem is.

skomes
11-18-2006, 06:21 AM

I used DSL's tool to create a bootable usbkey. I plugged it into my fairly new Dell Precision 670 and it appears to boot until it gets to the dreaded "can't find knoppix filesystem, sorry". I have the image on a 2.0 gb Lexar USB drive. I tried typing "dsl nodma" as well as a bunch of other commands to try to get this to work, but nothing has so far. The harddrives in this machine are connected via SATA. (Not SCSI or IDE). I tried booting off of the cd and it worked fine on the same machine.