PDA

View Full Version : "Can't find KNOPPIX filesystem" on Intel 965?

pyromosh
12-02-2006, 07:03 PM
Hello, all!

I'm having some problems getting Knoppix to boot properly.

I am a Novice, but have used Knoppix on and off for a while now. Just to play around with.

Recently I upgraded my motherboard and processor and Knoppix no longer works for me. The disc still works on the other PCs in the house, just not my newest mobo.

Here are the specs of my PC before the upgrade:

Intel Pentium D 820
Intel D945PSN motherboard (945 chipset, obviously)
1 GB (512 MB x2) Crucial DDR2 PC2-5300 • CL=5 • UNBUFFERED • NON-ECC • DDR2-667 • 1.8V • 64Meg x 64
80 GB Western Digital WD800JB IDE drive
120 GB Western Digital WD1200BB IDE drive
250 GB Western Digital WD2500KS SATA drive
Plextor PX-755A SATA DVDRW Drive
ATI X850 XT PCI Express graphics card
Old D-Link NIC, model unknown
Promise IDE Controller Card, model unknown

I changed the motherboard and processor for:
Intel Core 2 Duo 6300
Intel DG965WH Motherboard (Intel 965 Chipset)

Other than that and removing the now unnessisary D-Link NIC, and Promise IDE controller, this system is identical.

In other words, I know the Knoppix CD (it is a CD, version KNOPPIX_V5.0.1CD-2006-06-01-EN) is good. I have booted it off of other PCs, and even booted it off this same system prior to the motherboard swap.

I suspect there's some kind of incompatability with the chipset, as I see others having similar problems. Mostly those others are told "Oh, it must be a bad burn" and "go read the FAQ". Well, I know it's not a bad burn, and the FAQ is not helpful for this situation. Any help would be appreciated though. Hopefully someone has some experience in this area. It's newer, but fairly standard, popular hardware, so I'm hopping it's supported!

Thanks in advance!

pyromosh
12-02-2006, 07:31 PM
Okay, solved part of my problem.