PDA

View Full Version : How do you install printers in Knoppix

mastergunner
12-23-2006, 05:31 AM
I have tried to install my HP Laserjet 1020 into Knoppix 5.0.1 and it says I do not have the drivers or permission. I am a newb at linux so all the help that can be given is appreciated. thanks.

ndb
12-23-2006, 12:09 PM
I had that problem with the same version of knoppix. I have an epson color stylus 740, but I suspect the cause of the problem and solution are the same. The problem isn't your permissions, but the drivers list. I suspect that there are a number that are listed, but not actually present. Since you got far enough to get the message suggesting that you didn't have permissions, I will skip the steps lead to that part. See if there is an entry under ESP for HP Laserjet 1020.

This includes a lot of drivers. Please let everyone know if this solves your problem.

turbine
12-23-2006, 10:00 PM
OK, you got my attention and my interest. What does "See if there is an entry under ESP" mean?

ndb
12-24-2006, 05:35 AM
OK, I'll start from the beginning. Please bear with me if I'm restating the obvious.

Click on the K at the bottom left of the screen. This is the equivalent of the Windows start icon. This calls up a long list of items.

Click on Knoppix -> Configure -> Configure Printers. This will display the KDE printer configuration utility.

Click on Add -> Add Printer. Your path after this depends on whether you have a local or networked printer. You will get a printer model selection box. Choose ESP from this list. This contains a lot of generic printer drivers, including Epson, some HP laserjets, etc. The epson color style 740 driver wasn't present. I suspect that some other drivers may not be there either.

When you get the test page eventually, it should have a pie chart among other things, in color if you have a color printer.