PDA

View Full Version : Mandrake to Knoppix PartitionProblems (I think)

fullerton
05-22-2003, 12:01 AM
I launch the knx-install script and choose my harddrive and it launches CFDISK then displays at the bottom of the screen:

FATAL ERROR - connaot read Disk Drive

I press on and it asks if I want to swap partitions I say yes and it says:

No Swap Partion could be found on the disk the script will be terminated.

and that's how it ends.

I recently got rid of windows for Mandrake linux after trying out Linux with knoppix and loving it. Unfortuantely Mandrake isn't detecting some of my hardware and beyond that I just like Debian/Koppix better...it's what i started with in my quest to be M$ free.

I have a tiny harddrive, so when i switched to mandarke I had to erase my HD...I'm willing to do this again to switch to knoppix, but since I'm a compu-moron I'm not sure how to do this.

I'm a newbie...go easy on me

Thanks in advance, your help is really appreciated.

CrashedAgain
05-22-2003, 05:41 AM
It's really suprising how we often walk down exactly the same path! I also was trying to get away from M$ & could not get Mandrake to work satisfactorily so switched to Knoppix.
First, what is on the HD now? Does it have a valid filesystem on it that Knoppix is unable to read when running from the CD? If so, you probably will have to reformat the HD.
How big is 'tiny'? Knoppix needs 2.3 Gig or it refuses to attempt a HD install. Even with 2.3 Gig it will doesn't have enough room to install OpenOffice. I had to uninstall a bunch of games & other stuff I wasn't going to use to make room for OpenOffice. (use KDE's Kpackage)
If you had Mandrake on this system it should have created a swap file. If you don't have a swap file & you tell the hdinstall you want to use one, it won't create one, it will just terminate the install, so if you want to use a swap file you will have to create it first.