PDA

View Full Version : Knoppix Headache

sperovita
01-02-2007, 05:06 AM
Alright, well I'm very new to Linux, but I'm learning, I have the beginner hd install of Knoppix 5.0.1 Dvd. I'm starting to realize more why people keep saying knoppix hd-install isn't considered stable or true Linux hd-install. I've had numerous mounting issues, I've had root password issues, now my sound isn't working and I've tried alsa and other forum advise, oh also for some reason k3b says my dvd burner is gone now, there's issues getting my tv out to fill up my screen, all the root access programs are in german, everytime I fix something there's a new problem... Anyway here's my question, Is this all because I'm not very proficient in Linux, or because it's the knoppix begginer install? Personally I think it's probably both, but as well would I be better off installing Debian, then install kde on it? I basically want a back up os to goto that I can watch movies on, burn discs, browse, just basic applications. I like how there's so many applications on knoppix and the way kde looks, but it's starting to feel like too much trouble. If I do get debian would I have to manually configure all of my devices, and if so once they're set up would it be more stable than Knoppix?

Well any opinions or advise anyone might have would be cool, and much appreciated, so tell me what you think.

Harry Kuhman
01-02-2007, 05:48 AM