PDA

View Full Version : Wireless card not recognized.

ralien
01-09-2007, 05:54 AM
Hi, I downloaded/running the newer version of Knoppix. I am a mostly proficient windows user, having worked in tech support and crap.....but this is my first time with Linux. My problem is that I cannot get the system to recognize my wireless card, I am using ethernet to write this atm. My wireless card is a Linksys Wireless G notebook adapter... model wpc54g version 2. When my ethernet needs a new ip address I click on the network card configuration and there are two there...eth 0 lan and eth 1 lan. The eth 1 lan is my ethernet card and it can get an ip through DHCP on my router. The wireless card doesnt do anything when I pick it to get an ip address. Looking around on the internet I found some command called wlcardconfig, when i type that into the command box i get "no wireless network card found". I'm not sure but I think I have to install the drivers which I don't know how to do. Thanks for hearing me out and let me know if you have any suggestions.

mr-roboto
01-10-2007, 12:52 AM