PDA

View Full Version : Nvidia Drivers not working

cjamesstuart
01-14-2007, 08:10 AM
For the past 12 hours, I have tried everything I can think of to make nvidia drivers work. Installed from Nvidia web-site, Synaptic, apt-get, all I get is a black screen or errors. I installed the correct kernel source for 2.6.19, installed pkg-config and x.org sdk dev package, used dpkg-reconfigure and nvidia-xconfig ... every time get error that no usable screens are found - or just get black screen. Currently have installed Nvidia x86 v.1.0-9746, using 2.6.19 kernel and Nvidia GeForce 6200 card, Knoppix 5.1.1 installed to hdd

At last boot, typed startx - got black screen, rebooted, edited xorg.conf changed driver from nvidia to nv, startx
now getting several errors such as usr/lib/libnvidia-cfg.so.1 is not an ELF file, it has wrong magic bytes at start ... huh? I'm kinda new to linux ... didn't realize there were magic bytes. If anybody can help me, it would be greatly appreciated.

CJ

hal8000
01-14-2007, 11:39 PM
Hi, have a look at this tutorial for help:

http://wiki.debian.org/NvidiaGraphicsDrivers

I now have Nvidia acceleration but all I did was run synaptic then installed following packages:
nvidia-kernel-source
nvidia-settings
nvidia-glx
nvidia-kernel (matched against my kernel version)

You will find that synaptic automatically fills in the dependencies for you.

After that I manually edited my /etc/X11/xorg.conf file with changes as follows

--in module section--
Load "dbe" # Double Buffering Extension, very important.
Load "glx" # GLX Extension.

--in device section change driver from nv to nvidia as below

Section "Device"

### Available Driver options are:-
# sw_cursor is needed for some ati and radeon cards
# The following line is auto-generated by KNOPPIX mkxf86config
# Driver "nvidia"
# BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "Sparkle"
BoardName "Geforce 5700 Ultra"
EndSection

Restarted X server.