PDA

View Full Version : unable to connect to internet- network driver problem

newbie36
01-18-2007, 03:05 PM
Hi all,

I am new in linux. few weeks ago I have just installed knoppix 4.0.1. everything is fine, the only problem is that i couldnt access the internet. I have search through many forums and try out the solution, but still it doesnt work. I can use Internet when in windows (dual booting), and this make me sure that I am using the correct IP address, I am using static Ip address, not DHCP)..

During the installation using the live cd, there is warning about the network card is not detected. Therefore, I have tried to download the appropriate network driver for my network card . I am using Realtek RTL8168/8111 PCI Gigabit Ethernet NIC (I have checked in windows). So am I right that I have to download driver for that network card but for linux. I couldn't find the driver for that version, instead I only can find for 'linux-8169(221)'..Is it compatible??. so I have downloded the file, and use unzip command to unzip it (since it is in the .zip)..below is my command used and the result obtained:

su
unzip linux-8169(221).zip
cd src # since there is no linux-8169(221) after unzip
make clean modules

here are what I get:

Makefile:28:/home/myname/Desktop/src/src/makefile-linux26x: No such file or directory
Make: *** No rule to make target '/home/myname/Desktop/src/src/Makefile-linux26x'. Stop.

For your information, the src folder contains those files:
Makefile, Makefile-linux24x, Makefile-linux26x, README, /modules, r8169_n.c, /src

and inside the modules and src folder there is nothing except ., .., and .tmp_versions

I have also try out this:

'pump -i eth0' which i got "Operation failed".. then i tried to 'modprobe 8168 (and also 8169)' and it returned "FATAL: module 8168(or 8169) not found"

when I tried to do 'ifconfig -a', I got the following message:

eth0 link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-E0-18-00-03-EE-EC-b9-00-00-00-00-00-00-00