PDA

View Full Version : VMWARE PLAYER INSTALL

birdsixone
01-25-2007, 02:36 AM
I'm trying to install VMware-player-1.0.3-34682 and everything installs perfectly until it asks for the location of the directory of the C header files that match my running kernel. Here is what I get.

What is the location of the directory of C header files that match your running
kernel? [/usr/src/linux/include]

The path "/usr/src/linux/include" is not an existing directory.

I heard that I have to point it to /lib/modules/2.6.19/build but I do not have a build folder. Instead build is a file and when I click on it I get the error"File:////lib/modules/2.6.19/build Does not seem to exist anymore". Someone please help me out here. I have tried almost everything I can think of but then again I am new to Linux. I was also told I should try to do a apt-get install linux-headers-2.6.19 but when I do that I get this

root@box:/home/birdsixone# apt-get install linux-headers-2.6.19
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree... Done
Package linux-headers-2.6.19 is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source
E: Package linux-headers-2.6.19 has no installation candidate
root@box:/home/birdsixone#

Any help is appreciated.

onemyndseye
01-25-2007, 08:06 AM
the 2.6.19 headers are installed on the system at: /usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.19

hope this helps :)
-Justin
One Mynds Eye

birdsixone
01-25-2007, 01:31 PM
I tried to go to that but their is no such directory on my computer. Is their some way I can search for them or do I have to download them?

JohnnyH
01-25-2007, 01:35 PM
birdsixone : Exactly which version of KNOPPIX are you using ? The recent ones in which I have installed VMware-player-1.0.3-34682 are :-

5.0.1 CD :does not have the files; I had to copy over the files from 5.0.1 DVD (see below)

5.0.1 DVD : has the files in :-
/usr/src/linux-2.6.17/arch