PDA

View Full Version : All Hard Drives are Read Only

Netzilla
01-30-2007, 05:22 PM
I am completely new to Linux and am running KNOPPIX off the live CD to give it a trial run. So far everything has been running smooth, however there is a significant problem that I'm not sure if it's something I'm doing, KNOPPIX is doing or a hardware incompatability. All of my hard disks are Read Only even though only the Windows partition is actually NTFS. All are IDE.

When I attempt to save anything, here is the error message I recieve:
"The document could not be saved, as it was not possible to write to file:///media/sda5/Linux%20Printer%20Driver.txt.
Check that you have write access to this file or that enough disk space is available."

I have run the following diagnostic commands (unfortunately I can't make much of them myself as I'm not familiar enough with Linux):

knoppix@Knoppix:~$ cat /etc/fstab
/proc /proc proc rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec 0 0
/sys /sys sysfs rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec 0 0
/dev/shm /dev/shm tmpfs rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec 0 0
/dev/pts /dev/pts devpts mode=0622 0 0
/dev/fd0 /media/fd0 auto user,noauto,exec,umask=000 0 0
/dev/cdrom /media/cdrom auto user,noauto,exec,ro 0 0
/dev/hdc /media/hdc auto users,noauto,exec,ro 0 0
# Added by KNOPPIX
/dev/hda1 /media/hda1 ntfs noauto,users,exec,umask=000,uid=knoppix,gid=knoppi x 0 0
# Added by KNOPPIX
/dev/hda5 /media/hda5 vfat noauto,users,exec,umask=000,shortname=winnt,uid=kn oppix,gid=knoppix 0 0
# Added by KNOPPIX
/dev/hdb1 /media/hdb1 vfat noauto,users,exec,umask=000,shortname=winnt,uid=kn oppix,gid=knoppix 0 0
# Added by KNOPPIX
/dev/hdd1 /media/hdd1 vfat noauto,users,exec,umask=000,shortname=winnt,uid=kn oppix,gid=knoppix 0 0
# Added by KNOPPIX
/dev/sda5 /media/sda5 vfat noauto,users,exec,umask=000,shortname=winnt,uid=kn oppix,gid=knoppix 0 0
# Added by KNOPPIX
/dev/sda6 /media/sda6 vfat noauto,users,exec,umask=000,shortname=winnt,uid=kn oppix,gid=knoppix 0 0

knoppix@Knoppix:~$ cat /etc/mtab
/dev/root / ext2 rw 0 0