PDA

View Full Version : Knoppix 5.1 LiveDVD - mouse dead during bootup process

nancy
02-27-2007, 08:52 AM
I am new to Linux and was interested in trying Knoppix. I downloaded the DVD and was able to get most of the boot accomplished, although the boot process stalled on trying to identify the DVD Drive of the LiveDVD. Both my mouse (Logitech Marble Mouse) and keyboard (standard US - HP) do not work correctly after I boot into the main window of Knoppix. The mouse is stalled and totally dead. The keyboard does not produce the correct letters, etc., that normally belong to the keys. Both of these pieces of hardware are PS/2.

My use of commands is very limited but I would like to experience a proper boot-up of the Live DVD Knoppix 5.1 version.
Which cheat codes are most applicable and how do I use them properly? Thank you for your assistance. The priority problem is the dead mouse -- a real hinderance to operating and exploring Knoppix. :( :?:

Harry Kuhman
02-27-2007, 09:38 AM
.... The mouse is stalled and totally dead. The keyboard does not produce the correct letters, etc., that normally belong to the keys. Both of these pieces of hardware are PS/2....
I have no idea what the mouse problem is. I've seen a report of a mouse problem when running in a virtual machine, but I'm assuming that you're running from actual hardware.