PDA

View Full Version : waiting for root file system... ...

abcc
03-14-2007, 07:41 PM
i am a linux newbie. i have installed knoppix on a logical partion and grub on / . it used to boot smoothly but now it doesn't. when the booting starts everything goes normal as before but stops in between as shown below.

success: loaded module raid 6
md: raid 10 personality registered for level 10.
success: loaded module raid 10.
done.
warning: missing mdadm.conf file, trying to create one...
success: mdadm.conf created.
begin: no arrays found in config file or automatically.
failure: failed to assemble all arrays.
done.
done.
begin: waiting for root file system... ...

it halts here. no furthur processing is done. what could be the problem and how to solve it.

please help....

hal8000
03-16-2007, 10:19 AM
You're not going to like my answer, but here it is.
Knoppix is designed as a live cd, and as such it is a pretty formidable tool in the right hands, it takes time to learn, and if you picked up a guitar, no one would expect you to play like Eric Clapton the first time you used it....... the same with linux, you have done well to install knoppix on your hard drive, but there are some flaws with the distro (easily corrected if you not a beginner).

It will be a struggle for you to repair this, the best advice is to boot with the live knoppix cd, put in a flash drive and back up your data onto the flash drive then reinstall knoppix.

For a newbie, the easiest distros are Mandrake (now mandriva), Suse and Ubuntu. If you like kde, you may also like kubuntu, search on google for these, each distro is free to download.