PDA

View Full Version : Please - Need help with Linux kernel headers

ron653
03-15-2007, 07:24 AM
Hi.
I'm new in Linux.

I want to install Aircrack-ng on my laptop.
The wireless card I have is Realink with rt61 chipset.

I downloaded Knoppix and run it as live cd then I downloaded the rt2570 driver according to the instructions:
http://aircrack-ng.org/doku.php?id=newbie_guide

Problem is that when I try to compile the driver with "make" I receive error.

I checked and it seems that I need the Linux kernel headers .
Is it possible to install it with Knoppix live CD or must I install full Linux on my laptop ?

Thanks

onemyndseye
03-15-2007, 07:56 AM
Youll need the DVD release if you want to keep running in a LiveCD.... and even then it still may not compile when running "Live"

otherwise you can install the CD version to your HD and upack and setup the kernel source-tree from ftp.kernel.org

Take Care,
-Justin
One Mynds Eye

w_barnes
04-20-2007, 04:40 AM
Youll need the DVD release if you want to keep running in a LiveCD....

Does that mean the CD version cannot be extended with new packages, drivers, etc. that are only available as source?

I have a similar problem installing the slmodemd driver for my winmodem (soon to be linmodem :wink: ). The pre-compiled version requires Glib 2.4 but Knoppix 5.1.1 has version 2.3.6. The installation notes indicate that for kernal 2.6 I have to download the full source tree not just the kernal headers.

If the only way is a hard drive install, can I get away with a poor mans install? (tohd/fromhd)

I was thinking before that maybe I could upgrade glib but after reading this thread it seems that would not be the best way to go, is that correct?

Thanks,
Walter

onemyndseye
04-20-2007, 08:13 AM
In theory it should with with poor mans install since you wouldnt be mounting a "Persistant Home" and changes to the unionfs would be written there..... but it doesnt always work out this way :)