PDA

View Full Version : USB Config, Format and Permission access

WHODIDDAT
03-18-2007, 12:13 AM
Hello!
As the title implies a few questions at once.
Ive looked extensively for the answers to no avail.
I'm a novice user of linux in general - but learning everyday - so forgive my obvious mistakes.

Usually out of nessesity I'm using Knoppix as a rescue device. At this time since my main PC is being repaired, I thought to try to get some net and file access with an old Chaintech 733Mz box with the HD's removed since Knoppix runs on the fly. Although I do have a 100Mb Zip drive and 2 USB's with the ports to access both. So far so good... I'm here arn't I - Now here's the problem(s)

in another thread it suggests to first "mkdir" to mount the USB device. (If not detected or auto configured to the desktop)
- Should mention It wasn't written to /etc/fstab - therefore I had to append it in "root"
- Also these were plugged into an XP SP2 AMD box before and has only been recognized (in the past) by knoppix through SMB from the old box mounted on the new one - never on the same machine. Why?

#dmesg

d_request: I/O error, dev ubb, sector 2
Buffer I/O error on device ubb, logical block 1
end_request: I/O error, dev ubb, sector 4
Buffer I/O error on device ubb, logical block 2
end_request: I/O error, dev ubb, sector 6
Buffer I/O error on device ubb, logical block 3
end_request: I/O error, dev ubb, sector 0
Buffer I/O error on device ubb, logical block 0
ldm_validate_partition_table(): Disk read failed.
end_request: I/O error, dev ubb, sector 2
unable to read partition table
ubb: made changed
ubb: device 3 capacity nsec 50 bsize 512
ubb: device 3 capacity nsec 50 bsize 512
ubb:end_request: I/O error, dev ubb, sector 2
end_request: I/O error, dev ubb, sector 2
ldm_validate_partition_table(): Disk read failed.
........... etc repeat read attempts
uba: was not changed
spurious 8259A interrupt: IRQ7.
# END

# mount
/dev/root on / type ext2 (rw)
/dev/scd0 on /cdrom type iso9660 (ro)