PDA

View Full Version : Pendrive probs, multiple mounts of CDROM and unable to save

voteslave
04-01-2007, 02:13 PM
Hi

I have just installed knoppix 5.1.1 on my USB pendrive (based on an article at www.tuxmachines.org), everything boots fine but i have some weirdness:

NB - during thr boot process i let it do everything itsled so didn't change (i thinK0 anything on the persistent home dir stuff where there was 4 options - how many of thesehome/systtem/overwrite/init should be ticked??

NNB - i am pretty new to linux so please be gentle :)

Anyway - here goes

1) Its dual boot system with several hard drives and if i click on the HDD icons on the desktop and try and unmount them i get a message that says Could not unmount - it seems /cdrom is mounted multiple times (if i click on them it seems to think the CDis mounted there as i only see the files on the CD and not whats actually on the hard drive). However if i open Konquerer i see all the hard drives and can access my windows data.

2) Anything i do is not saved e.g. documents, clock settings etc - i am pretty sure i must have done something wrong with the persistent disk image set up. The second partition on my pendrive just has the .img file on it - if i save stuff to this file does it become part of the image? I can copy files into the partition though it says the device is read only.

many thanks

voteslave
04-01-2007, 02:23 PM
EDIT

Update

the previous post was on the basis that the persistent disk image choices ticked were 3 of the 4 - all except the 'overwrite' one

now - i had actually tried all 4 with ticks - i.e. with overwrite also selected
i just tried this again and it HAS remembered the stuff i set up before

HOWEVER, now i can't even access my other drives through Konqueror ( i get an error message about HAL) *

*edit* not quite true - its my sata drives that are messed up (sda and sdb), my IDE hard drive (hda) is fine
the pendrive is sdc1 and sdc2