PDA

View Full Version : [installing knoppix on a HD over a lan with terminal server]



rslaats
05-27-2003, 06:05 PM
This is the problem:
I have a cdrom with knoppix on it. I boot it with my pc.
I start the terminal server on it and my laptop with no cdrom is booting from lan.
I'm logged into knoppix on my laptop.
So far so good.
But I want to install knoppix onto the HD of my laptop.
I tried to open a root shell. But when I click it. it opens and it closes.. :S
Then I opened a regualar shell and tried the sudo command.
It said: "sorry sudo must be setuid root"
If I try to run the /usr/local/bin/km-hdinstall it says permission denied..

Can someone help me with it..
please..
:roll:

rickenbacherus
05-28-2003, 12:46 AM
Then I opened a regualar shell and tried the sudo command.
It said: "sorry sudo must be setuid root"
If I try to run the /usr/local/bin/km-hdinstall it says permission denied..

First of all- I assume that /usr/local/bin/km-hdinstall is a typo.

Did you try it like this:


sudo /usr/local/bin/knx-hdinstall

Here is the
how-to (http://www.knoppix.net/docs/index.php/HowtoInstallOverNet) for installing over the net if you haven't seen it already.

rslaats
05-28-2003, 12:54 PM
Sorry it was a typo..

But do you have any idea, how to install it over a terminal server?
Did someone succeed with it?

Henk Poley
05-28-2003, 05:30 PM
*cough*uncheckdisablerootaccesonclients*cough* :-)

rslaats
06-04-2003, 09:39 PM
*cough*
*cough*uncheckdisablerootaccesonclients*cough* :-) How?? *cough*

RockMumbles
06-05-2003, 09:56 AM
You do this when you setup the terminal server, I think there are 4 or so options that are all selected by default.

HTH

rock

A. Jorge Garcia
10-27-2003, 11:40 PM
Can't the terminal server run off an HDD install?

Upset,