PDA

View Full Version : testing windows sata drive

tintin
06-09-2007, 01:43 PM
ok, complete newbie here, so be gentle :oops:

my flatmates sata hard drive has been goosed by norton goback, cant boot it. i installed a second ide drive and installed windows xp, which can see it but doesnt mount it. i borrowed a knoppix 5.0 cd from a friend, boots in fine, and can see the sda1, but when i click on it, it says "Volume is dirty. Forced to continue". It then opens up, but only shows me a folder containing "my documents and settings". I think this is a partition created when i tried the second drive, which is now unplugged, not sure how it got on this drive.

The drive properties is showing 130GB used out of 250GB. The properties on the folder i can see is 21GB.

I dont know where to go now, as i've never used Linux before. Can anyone give an idiots guide to restoring his partition?

The computer is attached to my windows network, and i can see my servers drive, so once i can see his files, i can rescue them and format his drive (and recommend he never uses norton products again !!)

many thanks,

sakiZ
06-10-2007, 02:56 AM
Boot the live CD

Open a Konsole. Go to root: su then password.

From root now type this: fdisk -l (That's an L lower case)

It will give you a list of all the partitions of all the drives. You SATA drive will show up with /dev/sda1 /dev/sda2 etc. as the partitons.
Take note of which ones look like they are reported as being wrong. Sounds like its the /dev/sda1 though. So you might be able to skip that step and proceed to the next one:

Type: testdisk from the Konsole window. It will tell you if you need to make the console window bigger. (25 lines minimum)

This will run a powerful program with which you may check and repair your drives.

It doesn't have a friendly user interface, but it is not too hard.

If the drive is formatted as Win32, you could also do this which you may find a little less scary: