PDA

View Full Version : Installing harddisks

Cinemarxism
06-11-2007, 10:34 PM
Okay, I'm not going to bullshit anyone; I don't have a hard time believeing that this question probably has been answered hundreds of times, and that the solution probibly is so simple that any fool should be able to figure it out after an hour of trying. However, I don't. I've been using the knoppix live-cd since my windows crashed, and I need to access my hard drives to be able to move my files before formatting the computer. I've been searching the forums a bit, but this problem, with a solution I guess is pretty obvious to everyone with a tad of experience, I have not managed to find answered in threads.

So here it is: how do I access my hard drives through knoppix? USB-devices are found immediately, the hdd's arent. Do I use a certain program, or a scrips to do this? (As you can see I'm a total noob, this is my first time using anything other than Mac or Windows)

Also, as a side-question, are there any programs for knoppix that can burn data-DVDs? I wonder, because I can't use the DVD-rom since knoppix is running from the CD in there ... Do I have to install knoppix to one of my hdd's to be able to use the CD-rom while using knoppix?

Any help is appreciated, and again, sorry to bother you with problems I'm ashamed of not finding answers to myself.

Harry Kuhman
06-11-2007, 10:41 PM
... since my windows crashed, .... USB-devices are found immediately, the hdd's arent......