PDA

View Full Version : PS/2 Mouse not working

lkraemer
06-14-2007, 03:38 AM
I am trying to get Knoppix ver 5.1.1 to detect my Logitech Marble Mouse (USB to 9 Pin DIN Adapter) in a PS/2
Port on my Compaq Presario 1672 AMD K6-2 350 MHZ with 192 Meg of Ram during bootup of the Knoppix LiveCD.
My /ETC/X11/XORG.conf file has:
# PS/2 Mouse not detected
# Serial Mouse not detected
InputDevice "USB Mouse" "CorePointer"

but it should be
# PS/2 Mouse detected
# Serial Mouse not detected
InputDevice "PS/2 Mouse" "CorePointer"

I have copied the file to my desktop and made the changes, but how can I force Knoppix to
use this updated file the next time it boots from CDR?
I would also like to force the next boot to be:

boot: Knoppix noapm nofirewire

I am new to Knoppix, so I need detailed information please......

Thanks.

Larry

marques
06-27-2007, 12:51 PM
well, this kind of problem is the very same I have as soon I'd have a try with this new 5.1.1 version.
And it seems to be a problem fluorished right after the 5.0.1version.
My configuration is an AMD 64x2 on ASUS motherboard with chipset nForce4, graphic card nVidia 6800 GS, mouse either a PS/2 or USB Logitech.

As a matter of fact any version (even the 4.0.2, the one is running now), WORKS FLAWLESSLY WITH ANY MOUSE.
That's why I'll stick with my precious 5.0.1.

If you'll get no reply, try the 5.0.1 version. I'm sure it'll works for you (google with "sw+knoppix+5.0.1" and select the first entry, it's an EN ver...).

cheers

:?

HatGuy
06-29-2007, 05:02 PM
The default driver works, but the mouse is way skittish, and Knoppix 3.4 found the right driver (worked fine!). :?

HatGuy

marques
07-04-2007, 11:05 PM
The default driver works, but the mouse is way skittish, and Knoppix 3.4 found the right driver (worked fine!). :?

HatGuy

You mean you are able to see the mouse cursor once the Konqueror is opened?

To me appears at the very beginning a "bouncing" mouse cursor, then it disappears...