PDA

View Full Version : usb flash drive doesn't work after booting without udev

EV-vD
06-14-2007, 03:00 PM
I'm new with linux, so to try it I downloaded Knoppix V5.1.1.
After burning the CD I put it in the diskdrive, restarted the conputer and waited, it didn't work in one time, but at last it worked when I typed "expert noudev noaudio", so I could see what it looked like.

But now my problem, I can't look in my USB flash drive, I suspect that's because of the noudev part (I don't know what udev is, but it can't be because of the no audio, can it?).

Does anybody know how to fix this (by loading udev after I started knoppix maybe, but how). Maybe this also fixes my strange acting USB mouse, it jumps from left to right and back if I'm trying to point something (and I didn't drink :wink: )

SiKing
06-14-2007, 03:52 PM
I'm new with linux, so to try it I downloaded Knoppix V5.1.1.
Welcome, hope you stay a while. :)

But now my problem, I can't look in my USB flash drive, I suspect that's because of the noudev part (I don't know what udev is, but it can't be because of the no audio, can it?).
You're correct, it's the udev part. udev is quite important to Linux (http://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/utils/kernel/hotplug/udev-FAQ), as it basically handles a lot of your hardware, such as USB flash drives.

Does anybody know how to fix this (by loading udev after I started knoppix maybe, but how).
Yes, you will need udev. How far does the boot get, if you supply no cheatcodes at all? You will need to figure out what is it that is causing the problems, and disable just that. noudev is almost like disabling half of your computer.

EV-vD
06-15-2007, 09:43 PM