PDA

View Full Version : Help! Nedd to recover files

kk39shadow
06-17-2007, 12:41 AM
I'm sorry if this has been posted. I searched back a while, and didn't find any answers. I'm new to Linux and have never used knoppix before (obviously) My Windows crashed, and won't boot, so that's why I'm using knoppix. I'm trying to recover files before I reinstall Windows. The hard drive is fine. I'm just totally lost trying to find the files. The knoppix desktop has Hard Disk[ sda], which I can't get into. When I try to open it I get an error could not mount device could not determine the filesystem type and none was specified. There is Hard Disk [sr0], which I can open, and assume is the cd rom drive where Knoppix booted from, and Hard Disk [sr1], which I guess is the DVD RW drive.
Is the first one Hard Disk [sda] my hard drive? And how do get into it? From what I've read I need to mount it, then open it? But how do I do this, because as I said ever time I try to mount it I get the errror message. Any help is appreciated. Thank you

TopFarmer
06-17-2007, 04:38 AM
First need to know if you have Norton's GoBack installed , use a third party boot manager or have a DDO (disk drive overly) ? What Windows version does it have and if it is NTFS file system ? Error when trying to boot windows ? What happened before windows crashed ? The info is useful so bad advise is not given.

Very likely TESTDISK (program in knoppix, also dos version available ) will need ran, google program and read the how to use, if you answer yes to first question , do not run testdisk yet.

kk39shadow
06-17-2007, 05:08 PM