PDA

View Full Version : How I can boot Knoppix in console mode...

rioswill
08-25-2007, 08:34 PM
Hello Guys:
I'm new in knoppix. I have installed knoppix in my Hard Disk but, I need to install a Nvidia driver. So, I want to start knoppix without kde, no graphic mode to I can install the driver.
When knoppix run in live cd mode, is easy, I type knoppix 2, but when is installed, the grup or knoppix not permite me to do it.

I need your help and excuse me my English because I'm a Latin User.
Thanks for all.

JohnnyH
08-26-2007, 09:25 AM
At the KDE log-in screen, select Console Login.
Then log in as root and configure X driver as required.
Logout, and after a few moments the KDE log-in screen should re-appear ;)

rioswill
08-27-2007, 05:36 PM
Thank you JohnnyH, but I'm don't have a KDE log-in screen. The KDE start automatically, not permite me log-in, no password is required to start KDE.
I turn on my computer, knoppix start and inmediatelly the desktop KDE appear.
Knoppix not requests me a password to log-in to KDE.
I don't know how to stop the KDE initialization.
I wait for your answer and thank you again my friend...
Bye...

JohnnyH
08-27-2007, 07:33 PM
...I turn on my computer, knoppix start and inmediatelly the desktop KDE appear.
Knoppix not requests me a password to log-in to KDE....
(Knoppix should not be like that - if you made a 'Debian' type installation (?) - and which type of Knoppix are you using ? )

OK, you can get to a console by CTRL+ALT+F1

When you have finished selecting your driver, log out and get back to KDE with CTRL+ALT+F7

You have to re-start X for the new xorg.conf file to take effect.
(You could kill X by CTRL+ALT+Backspace, then re-start, but it may be easier just to re-boot if you are not running a Server ;) )

rioswill
08-27-2007, 09:04 PM