PDA

View Full Version : Can't find KNOPPIX File System

gurustered
09-13-2007, 08:43 PM
Hi all, I am new to Knoppix. I have tried this CD before on another system and it worked. But now on this new system (i am trying to resize Windows partition) I get the following messages

I am using the KNOPPIX CD v 5.1 and during boot up it is
Scanning for USB/Firewire devices... Done.

Can't find KNOPPIX filesystem. sorry
Dropping you to a (very limited) shell.
Press restart button to quit

I am using a USB Keyboard (only option available) for this system.

what can I do to boot up into KNOPPIX?

Thanks

Harry Kuhman
09-13-2007, 10:57 PM
....I have tried this CD before on another system and it worked. But......
Your problem is one very often associated with a marginal high speed burn. The first thing that I would advise based on this limited information would be go back and try a CD that was burnt at low speed.

gurustered
09-17-2007, 02:41 PM
I have burned the CD (different downloads) as low as 12x, and I still am getting the same error.

dendirk28
09-30-2007, 05:10 PM
I'm having the same problem, with a cd burnt at 4x! On another computer the cd worked really fine!

When I tried another distribution, an other error message was shown at startup: failed to mount cd-rom...

Is this possibly just a problem with my dvd-drive? Can anyone please help me?

maxIT
10-01-2007, 06:40 PM
IMHO could be a 'cd-drive_related_issue' but even a 'cpu_related_issue'.