PDA

View Full Version : Everything goes to hell after ppoe install... plz help me

Jackson5
05-29-2003, 04:47 PM
ok, ill start off by saying im a linux newbie.. so go easy on me.

i installed knoppix and everything works fine.. that is until i use the wizard to configure my ppoe DSL. After doing so, nothing works...i can only log in as root. Even under root, mozilla crashes, control panel crashes, things wont close, things sometimes wont even open. the only program which seems to work fine is xchat (yes i know i shoulndt be on irc as root but i had no choice)

when trying to login as knoppix user, the blue init box knoppix 3.2 comes up (with the icons and such)and it stays at "Initalizing system services" and then it just sits at the debian splash page forever.

However, all these problems go away when i disconnect the cable from my nic, things seem to work as they should.

I would be thankful to any insight.

-Jackson

garyng
05-29-2003, 05:03 PM
I suspect you see the same nasty bug of KDE that takes me 3 days, 10+ times installation to find out.

Check the following file :

/etc/network/interfaces

and see if you find these two lines.

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

add them and see if it solve your login problem.

Jackson5
05-29-2003, 05:41 PM
my interfaces file looks like this:

# /etc/network/interfaces -- configuration file for ifup(8), ifdown(8)
#the loopback inteface
#automatically added when upgrading

auto lo eth0
iface lo inet loopback

iface eth0 inet static
adress
mask
net
broadcast

Jackson5
05-29-2003, 05:44 PM
# /etc/network/interfaces -- configuration file for ifup(8), ifdown(8)
#the loopback inteface
#automatically added when upgrading

auto lo eth0
iface lo inet loopback

iface eth0 inet static
adress
mask
net
broadcast

all the stuff under static is from my memory, i was told it wasnt that important anyways.

my file has the 2 lines you said to add, so this cannot be my problem, thx for trying tho.

-Jackson

garyng
05-29-2003, 05:47 PM