PDA

View Full Version : Internet Connection

Cambo105
10-09-2007, 01:06 PM
Hi everyone, I am very new to Linux and in the interest of just trying it out, I've downloaded the latest version of Knoppix. It runs excellent on my computer (HP dv2000, Core 2 Duo) and with 2 gigs of ram, I can run it directly from the ram to make it even faster. My only problem is I am having a lot of trouble connecting to the internet. I don't know how to connect to the broadband internet at my college and I don't even know where to start. Also any tips on connecting to wireless internet would be appreciated because once I can get my wired connection all set I'd like to be able to connect to wireless as well. Thank you in advance for your help

Harry Kuhman
10-10-2007, 01:55 AM
Hi everyone, I am very new to Linux and in the interest of just trying it out, I've downloaded the latest version of Knoppix. It runs excellent on my computer (HP dv2000, Core 2 Duo) and with 2 gigs of ram, I can run it directly from the ram to make it even faster. My only problem is I am having a lot of trouble connecting to the internet. I don't know how to connect to the broadband internet at my college and I don't even know where to start.
If your school configures network connections by DHCP, you may actually already be connected just by booting. Yes, some people have asked for connection help in the past and we later determined that they were connected and just didn't check. If not you may need to set some network parameters by the netcardconfig command. But I can't tell you what those parameters are for your case. It would be best to ask the network administrator what the setting for you should be, or failing that some knowledgeable local technical user.

Also any tips on connecting to wireless internet would be appreciated because once I can get my wired connection all set I'd like to be able to connect to wireless as well. Thank you in advance for your help