PDA

View Full Version : Compiling Error

klerg
10-24-2007, 06:49 PM
I am still relatively new to Linux, and just managed to installed Knoppix to my Hard disk. Now, i'm trying to compile a program from source, the instructions say to run'./configure' in shell but after running that, at the end, i get this error:

checking for X... configure: error: Can't find X includes. Please check your installation and add the correct paths!

Does anyone know what this means? I'm supposed to run 'make' afterwards, but i get another error:

make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop.

And when i finally run 'make install' this error shows up:

make: *** No rule to make target `install'. Stop.

I'm pretty sure the last two errors have something to do with the first one. Some help would be great.

Thanks in advance.

JohnnyH
10-25-2007, 08:46 AM
You need the Knoppix custom linux-headers package, which you get with the 5.1.x DVD (but not with the CD, to save room).
If you are running 5.1 or 5.1.1 I can send you the package if you send me your email address by Forum Private Message.

klerg
10-28-2007, 02:26 AM
Thanks for sending me the package, but, unfortunately, after i installed it, it made NO difference. I still receive the exact same errors as before. Any other suggestions would be helpful.....

JohnnyH
10-29-2007, 11:14 AM
It looks as if you also need the xorg-dev metapackage and the many dependencies that it installs.

The safest way would be to install from the DVD where I would expect there to be these packages in compatible versions.

However to proceed from where you are now ;) please first refer to
http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/HD_Install_Warning_not_to_do_it
which explains, inter alia, the perils of upgrading from the various Debian repositories.

BTW I don't use installed Knoppix myself these days except as a reference system for the Forum, but I have found that the following worked safely for me ...