PDA

View Full Version : Problems with Knopix from CD

Sn00py
10-30-2007, 08:06 PM
I am a complete novice and NOT very computer literate but I am fed up with Windows and its associated rubbish.. So I thought i would try the well publisiced Knoppix system ..
I have burnt the cd OK and its boots BUT then I get some error reports " Starting X11...cloop :error 3
etc then a load of numbers
retrying with server XFree86 ( Vesa) and again with ( fbdev )
I have reburt the CD using a very slow speed but still get the same errors

Final line states No suitable x Server found for your card
root@tty [/]#
Can some Please explain in very simple terms what I need to do to get it to work so I can at least try it..

I have reburnt the CD using a very slow speed but still get the same errors

I am running an Athlon XP 2000 with 1 mb ram 2 Hdrives of 40 and 20 GB and two cd drives Nvidia GeForce FX5200 on a samsung 19 Inch syncmaster 910N

TIA

Harry Kuhman
10-30-2007, 08:15 PM
.... and its boots BUT then I get some error reports " Starting X11...cloop :error 3
etc then a load of numbers
retrying with server XFree86 ( Vesa) and again with ( fbdev )
I have reburt the CD using a very slow speed but still get the same errors
Final line states No suitable x Server found for your card
I have reburnt the CD using a very slow speed but still get the same errors

I am running an Athlon XP 2000 with 1 mb ram 2 Hdrives of 40 and 20 GB and two cd drives Nvidia GeForce FX5200 on a samsung 19 Inch syncmaster 910N...

Normally I would suggest the vesa cheat code, but I think you are saying that you already tried that.

Did you confirm that you actually have a good ISO by the md5 test? People who download from the mirrors rather than using bittorrent frequently get bad downloads (as do those who stop a BitTorrent download as soon as it says 100% rather than waiting for itto say it got the last few blocks).

Sn00py
10-30-2007, 09:11 PM