PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Q's - what's running? How to control processes?

hedgehog
11-29-2007, 02:00 AM
I am new to Knoppix and linux, so if these questions are stupid, please don't be too harsh.
Do a whole heap of possibly unnecessary processes load when Knoppix starts? If so, where can I see what they are, and can they be turned off? Other than basic internet access, I don't need any networking and don't want anything running that permits any remote connection to my computer, or anything "phoning" out from my computer.
Is there a single list of all of the programs/utilities included with Knoppix and what they are, or is there a good site for looking them up?
Finally, can I get an icon show up when connected to the internet? Is there a way of controlling connection to my router in the software (or do I just need to unplug it)?
Thanks.

OErjan
11-29-2007, 12:15 PM
to begin with

ps -aux
in a console gives a full list of running processes.
so does

you kill top by hitting Q.

in top and ps -aux, you can see how much CPU and memory they use, fraction of a percent if inactive,
you may perhaps need to add |less after ps -aux (ps -aux|less) then use arrowkeys to go up/down, to see everything, again you kill less by hitting q.

now as for network acess,
ifconfig eth0 down should shut the networkacess off (eth0 = first network card)
ifconfig eth0 up restarts it again.

as far as I know no remote access is allowed to knoppix by default.

yes there is a list of programs on the CD and DVD, but processes is another matter.

hedgehog
11-29-2007, 01:12 PM
Thanks, OErjan, I'll take a look.

maxIT
11-29-2007, 02:52 PM
Do a whole heap of possibly unnecessary processes load when Knoppix starts? If so, where can I see what they are, and can they be turned off?
Thanks.