PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a Solution for my Resolution

mattcallao
12-06-2007, 10:20 AM
Hi Guys!

I'm a newbie with kernel stuff and all that, could you guys help me with my problem.. I can't tweek my resolution when I use Knoppix 5.0 Live CD.... my card is an Intel(R) 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV. Knoppix runs perfectly fine except the display goes back to it's lowest res.

I made a little research of my own and tried various "codes" like dpkg-reconfigure..., xmodule=vesa, screen=1024x768... etc.

Please help...

Thanks!

johnsfine
12-06-2007, 03:13 PM
I'm only a little ahead of you in understanding this (so if any experts are reading this, don't let my answer stop you from posting a better answer that would help both mattcallao and me). But until an expert answers:

The display behavior is mostly controlled by the file /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Knoppix seems to have its own method for examining your hardware and creating that file, which gives conservative settings on some displays and even worse (as you seem to get) on others. Short of remastering Knoppix, you need a way to replace that file with a better version between starting knoppix and starting X.

While experimenting, I used "knoppix 2". to stop the boot-up at level 2 in order to give a few commands to tweak the xorg.conf file, before typing "init 5" to continue the boot-up.

On one of my systems, the command "X -configure" produces decent results (on the other system X -configure hangs, so I need to reboot). If it works, it creates the file
/xorg.conf.new

So the commands I need are:
X -configure
cp /xorg.conf.new /etc/X11/xorg.conf
init 5

(Notice two of those X's are upper case).