PDA

View Full Version : 5.0 CD won't boot

marcelloz
12-22-2007, 06:38 PM
Hi guys,
I'm totally new to linux - not for long I hope

my 5.0 CD used to work on a desktop, but on the notebook it hangs on:

PCMCIA found, starting cardmgr

I'm not sure what kind of info you need, so be patient 8)
thanks for any input
Marcello

Harry Kuhman
12-22-2007, 06:50 PM
There is no officially release Internet version called 5.0. The newest is 5.1.1. There was a 5.0.1. Knowing what you really have might help (but quite frankly it likely doesn't make much difference).

My first guess is that you likely burnt the CD at high speed, or didn't check the md5 checksum before burning, or worse yet bought it from one of those crooks on the electronic bay of thieves. But if these guesses are wrong and you confirmed the md5 checksum and burnt the disc at low speed, then you might have a hardware conflict and need to find the right cheatcodes to help get past the hardware detection phase. See the cheatcodes section of the wiki, or the cheatcodes.txt file that you got with your download. Try typing knoppix failsafe at the boot prompt to avoid most hardware detection (you will not be happy running Knoppix in this mode, but it will let you see if you can boot past a hardware detection problem).

marcelloz
12-22-2007, 07:18 PM
There is no officially release Internet version called 5.0. The newest is 5.1.1. There was a 5.0.1. Knowing what you really have might help (but quite frankly it likely doesn't make much difference).