PDA

View Full Version : unable to boot from CD under Windows 2000Server

screeny30
01-29-2008, 08:57 AM
Hi!
I'm new here and I'm also new to Linux/Knoppix, so forgive for any mistake :oops: :oops:

for work I should compare different Linux distributions
now, for the first try I wanted to start Knoppix 5.1.1 from CD on a PC with Windows 2000 Server.
unfortunately my PC is not able to boot from this CD :(

in BIOS I change the order of the boot devices. => the first one is "CD-ROM"
but it does not read the CD

then I tried other CDs like Win98, Ubuntu and they were "readable" ;)

Does anyone know whats going on???

please help :roll:

Harry Kuhman
01-29-2008, 05:36 PM
...but it does not read the CD

then I tried other CDs like Win98, Ubuntu and they were "readable" ;)...
It sounds like your CD is bad. And please don't post back that it must be good because it boots on a different machine, that does not prove anything when there is a suspected marginal burn. Did you burn this CD at low speed, as recommended? Did you confirm the md5 checksum of the ISO? Did you use a 700 meg CD and not a 650 meg blank? Do you know how to burn an ISO file as an image?

screeny30
01-30-2008, 07:12 AM
hi

first thanks for the answer ;)

but, I don't tell you that the CD must be good ;) because that was something I was thinking about, too ;)

but the other things, like "burning at low speed / confirming the md5 checksum" I didn't know because nobody told me :oops: :oops:

I downloaded the image from a german site and the "Install FAQ" was something like

- download image
- mount the image
- burn it on CD
- start your computer / booting from CD
nothing else ;)

But yes I burned it on a 700 meg CD and I know how to burn an ISO file as an image ;)

so thank you for your answer an I will try the thing you told me

Harry Kuhman
01-30-2008, 07:22 AM
but the other things, like "burning at low speed / confirming the md5 checksum" I didn't know because nobody told me :oops: :oops: