PDA

View Full Version : Knoppix not booting to desktop anymore

caleb
02-19-2008, 03:22 AM
I am very new to Linux but I followed a guide and installed version 5.0 on a Compaq P4 1.8 GHZ with 512 RAM so it's booting from the hard drive. It was working fine for about a week then one day it just doesn't boot to the desktop anymore.

On booting it takes me to the compaq login prompt - compaq login:
After logging in I get "Welcome to Knoppix Kernel 2.6.17"
On the screen above the prompt it says "Starting K display Manager: KDM. Not starting X display manager (xdm) it is not the default display manager"
(==)using config file: "etc/X11/Xorg.conf"
(EE) Open dev/fb0: no such file or directory
(EE) no devices detected

I type startx at the prompt and get the following:

Fatal server error:
no screens found
X10 fatal IO error 104 (connection reset by peer) on X server: "0.0"
after 0 requests (0 known processed) with 0 events remaining

What went wrong and how do I fix it? Thanks

johnrw
02-21-2008, 06:31 PM
I usually start mine with an "init 5" command. Knoppix uses run levels and it goes into run level 5 when it goes into gui mode, and run level 2 is the command line. You can even type init 2 if you are root, or sudo init 2, to leave X from a terminal. Try using init 5 instead.

caleb
02-23-2008, 04:41 AM
Thanks for replying...
I did what you said. Both init 5 and init 2 give the following:
init: must be superuser
When I try sudo init 2 I get "%username% is not in the sudoers file. This incident will be reported"
There was just one username that I supplied during the install and that's the one that I tried to use but telling me that it must be superuser. What's the next step?

johnrw
02-23-2008, 07:16 AM
Can you log in as root? What happens when you type: su at the prompt after those error messages?

This hard drive installation seems less and less like knoppix. Did you install it using the knoppix-installer script?