PDA

View Full Version : How to install knoppix 5.3 on hd?

applecookie
03-04-2008, 10:04 AM
Hi.
I'm new in knoppix and just tried the new version 5.3.
It's great!!! In fact, it's the only distribution, which recognizes all my hardware at once and well.
Now I would like to install it permanently on hdd. Yes, I know, this is not, what knoppix is meant for.
But is there a way to install the new knoppix 5.3? I did not find any installer on the DVD.
Regards

applecookie

enyocnosaj
03-13-2008, 08:10 PM
Open a terminal and type knoppix-installer

I reset my Thinkpad to be dual boot 70 gigs Windows XP and 5 gigs Knoppix and am pretty satisfied. (=

johnrw
06-28-2008, 10:57 PM
I cleared out a 20GB partition... and formatted it as an ext3 partition before I ran the new installer, 0wn. That's a zero.
Then I read some of the scripts. 0wn is actually /usr/sbin/0wn and it has some support scripts in /usr/share/0wn.

I chose the middle option which was a Knoppix on hard disk option... likely to preserve as much Knoppix as possible.

Since I had 970MB swap space... I decided to edit 0wn-common to reduce it to SWAP_NEEDED=$((1000*974))
111 # this is no real necessity, just policy
112 SWAP_NEEDED=$((1000*1024))

In reading it, it seemed as though it might allow me an option to append my already existing menu.lst, but I didn't get that option.
So rather than let it mess with my mbr I chose the other way. For it not to modify anything on my boot drive. It left a menu.lst in the newly installed knoppix partition... in /boot/grub/menu.lst. So I copied the Knoppix item to mine. I did notice it had lang=de in the menu item and so I changed that. (When I booted up... kde was in Gerrman as well!)

This is great.

If you haven't tried out the 0wn installer... give that a shot.
Alternatively, you can run from the iso file you downloaded... using grub4dos, and Gilles Van Ryumbeke's enhanced minirt.gz.