PDA

View Full Version : Installing to Raid array (nvidia)

spotta
03-07-2008, 11:23 AM
Hi All

I've been trying Live CD's out recently and have decided on Knoppix as the one I'd like to install to hdd and try out more. after a quick read on here, I found out that Debian is Knoppix installed to a hdd.
I've been multibooting for years and currently have XP, Vistax64, OSX and Ubuntu on my machine.
When I run the Knoppix Live CD, it recognises my Nvidia Raid Array (Asus P5NT WS) straight away and allows me access to the partitions on there - a big plus point for me.

So I expected the Debian CD installer to also be able to recognise my Raid array and be able to install to it. This was not the case.

I'm still new to Linux so can someone provide a bit of advice on how to find out what on the Knoppix live CD allows it to see my Raid array so I might be able to successfully get Debian installed?

Thanks

Spotta

Harry Kuhman
03-07-2008, 11:49 AM
after a quick read on here, I found out that Debian is Knoppix installed to a hdd.
Perhaps you should read a little less quickly. Knoppix is made from Debian, several incompatable versions of Debian actually. but Debian is most definitely not Knoppix installed to hard disk.

... and have decided on Knoppix as the one I'd like to install to hdd and try out more.
I strongly suggest that you take a look at answer #2 (http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/User:Harry_Kuhman) and rethink this.

When I run the Knoppix Live CD, it recognises my Nvidia Raid Array (Asus P5NT WS) straight away and allows me access to the partitions on there -