PDA

View Full Version : Write permissions on root partition

cobra_brad
04-04-2008, 03:52 PM
hello,

Im a linux noob and i am having trouble writing to my root partition.

I run XP as my main system and have a dual boot with knoppix fully installed on its own 20G partition with a 2G swap partition.

I need to edit menu.lst for the grub loader, i have read permissions (obviously) but i cant seem to get write permissions.

any suggestions?

thanks

brad

Harry Kuhman
04-04-2008, 05:20 PM
My suggestion is don't write to NTFS partitions with Knoppix. My other suggestion is if you do, don't post back here when your partition is corrupted and your data is lost asking how to recover it.

cobra_brad
04-04-2008, 11:23 PM
sorry i should of mentioned im trying to get write permission to the partition that knoppix is installed to.
i dont have any problems with permission/mounting of any of my NTFS partitions

Harry Kuhman
04-05-2008, 12:05 AM
sorry i should of mentioned im trying to get write permission to the partition that knoppix is installed to.....
OK, then I guess I should also mention, in addition to Knoppix prior to 5.3.1 being unsafe to write to NTFS (the jury isn't in on 5.3.1 yet, I don't trust it, but I may value my data more than you do) it is also problem prone to install Knoppix at all (see this (http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/HD_Install_Warning_not_to_do_it)), I know of no reason to install Knoppix rather than do a cleaner and more stable Debian install.

cobra_brad
04-27-2008, 02:49 AM
sorry, its bin awhile since ive bin at my computer.