PDA

View Full Version : advice on modem drivers knoppix3.4

paige2
06-03-2008, 05:05 PM
Hi i am new to linux and have recently been given a "linux knoppix 3.4 cd", it boots up ok and all features seem to work however i am unable to get an internet connection (i am on dial-up) i have been told that been on dial up should not be a problem. I have managed to get to the point where it accepts mi "isp" user i enter my, username and password and when i click connect it says "cannot detect modem" i have been told it's possibly not recognising my modem drivers as their microsoft drivers? any ideas...

Harry Kuhman
06-03-2008, 06:09 PM
First of all, you have a very old version of Knoppix. The Get Knoppix link near the top of this page will direct you to torrent downloads for much newer versions of both the CD and DVD if you want them, See the Downloading FAQ for more details of downloading and burning (follow the Documentation link near the top of the page for that).

As to your question, you don't say just what modem you have, but there is an issue with dial-up modems. Many are software modems and there were only Windows drivers for them, not Linux drivers. That was particularly the case when 3.4 came out; it improved somewhat after that but still there are some software modems that are not supported. These are sometimes called "winmodems" or "win-modems" because they require a Windows driver. Knoppix will support true hardware modems (ones that do the signal processing in hardware in the modem and not in software drivers in the computer), this would include all external modems that connect by a serial port. Most software modems (and some hardware modems) are internal modems that live in a card in your computer. You might get a software modem working with a newer version of Knoppix but I don't want to give any unlikely and false hopes. A little Google searching on Linux and modems should tell you a lot more, and our Hardware FAQ gives you a link where you can start .