PDA

View Full Version : Samba Server

MAiN_PRoToCoL
09-04-2008, 05:48 AM
I'm a noob. Completly new to Knoppix

So I download the latest DVD, start-up with it from your everyday PC.

My problem is when I click the "start samba server" from the clicking the little penquin guy and then services, it ask me to create password for the user knoppix. So no big deal, i use 123 as a password and normally i would say share all with read and write. well the problem is that it is not taking that 123 password or a blank password or anything. that damn dialog box just keep looping betweeen setting the password and confirming it and it wont go away.

what the deal?

Thanks

chip.ling
09-05-2008, 04:22 AM
I'm a noob. Completly new to Knoppix

So I download the latest DVD, start-up with it from your everyday PC.

My problem is when I click the "start samba server" from the clicking the little penquin guy and then services, it ask me to create password for the user knoppix. So no big deal, i use 123 as a password and normally i would say share all with read and write. well the problem is that it is not taking that 123 password or a blank password or anything. that damn dialog box just keep looping betweeen setting the password and confirming it and it wont go away.

what the deal?

Thanks

I believe you are using the knoppix 5.3 version. I only have 5.1.1 and I try it with your case, I use 123 as password, knoppix accepted it and ask me once again to confirm. After I re-enter it, it asks me if I want all harddisks to be read and write. I click on the OK and the program ended gracefully.

I do not have 5.3 myself so I cannot test it. Well 4+ GB download is not fun for me and I am not going to do it until they have the CD version coming up.

So anyone out there tried the knoppix 5.3 Samba server?

Rgds,
Chip

MAiN_PRoToCoL
09-05-2008, 04:30 AM
Nice to know that 5.1.1 is ok. I'm using 5.3.1

chip.ling
09-05-2008, 04:54 AM
Nice to know that 5.1.1 is ok. I'm using 5.3.1