PDA

View Full Version : Live CD and network file transfer speeds

camel_456
09-12-2008, 10:23 PM
I'm completely new to Linux and Knoppix and am using the latest Live CD
I'm using Knoppix to transfer a large amount of data (about 190GB) from a Linux formatted hard drive over to my new NAS unit which is connected to the computed via an Ethernet cable. The unit is 10/100MBps (not a gigabit unit)
So I have started the transfer but the speed it at max 2.7MBps, and will take 18 hours to complete (and that’s just 165GB's worth)
I don't really fancy leaving my computer on over night since it's quite noisy and so is the NAS unit.
My question is basically, is the fact that I am using the Live CD hindering my transfer rate, or is this what I would be experiencing if I had Knoppix installed on the hard drive?

Thanks for your help

Harry Kuhman
09-12-2008, 10:51 PM
You didn't give any details about your NAS or the system that your are running Knoppix on, but there is absolutely no reason to expect installing Knoppix will make things any faster. If anything, "installing" knoppix generally makes things worse.

If you have a gig of memory or more and you really really think that this is a cd speed issue, you could boot a cd version of Knoppix with the toram cheat code and run completely from memory. I would expect no improvement.

I expect that the speeds that you are experiencing are due to the NAS system itself. But you might be looking at some speed issues in Knoppix if running on very old slow and memory starved hardware. There is also a very very small chance that you are looking at some network speed issue, but I really don't think that is likely.

Since you have a NAS it seems likely that you have more than one computer, Some things to look at:

How fast can the other systems write to the NAS? (use a mix of file sizes similar to your Knoppix transfers for this test, a huge number of small files may transfer much slower that a single large file of the same size).